Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

And so it begins….an article on the BBC today reveals another level of social control proposed by the powers that be.  E-cigarette users are now coming under fire because apparently it is wrong that people go around “looking like they are smoking” even when they are not.

Calls have started for greater regulation on e-cigs, including bans on people using them in public places.  Yet there is no smoke, no tar and no passive risk.  So it is NOT about health rather it is about the exercise of even great levels of social control.

Nicotine itself is not a particularly hazardous drug,” says Professor John Britton, who leads the tobacco advisory group for the Royal College of Physicians.”It’s something on a par with the effects you get from caffeine.”If all the smokers in Britain stopped smoking cigarettes and started smoking e-cigarettes we would save 5 million deaths in people who are alive today. It’s a massive potential public health prize.

Ideas for regulation include making it a medicinal product. Sounds reasonable until you start to consider why I, as someone who has only managed to give up smoking with the aid of these e-cigs,  suddenly need my Dr’s permission to continue getting something I have been buying online for 6 months. And you can bet you will only be able to have them on prescription thus incurring much greater charge and revenue for the Government. As an adult, surely I am entitled to make some decisions for myself, without having to get state ratification? After all, I can walk into any shop in the land and buy potentially deadly cigarettes and no one bats an eyelid. I don’t need a Dr’s permission for that. But then of course, the Government benefits from the huge taxation. Call me cynical if you like, but this smacks of pound signs to me.

I do agree with regulation on sales, for example, under 18s can purchase them quite legally at present.  I would not want to encourage anyone to get addicted to nicotine, which quite honestly, has been a major issue for most of my adult life.

What I do not agree with is taking away the rights of ADULTS to make their own decisions regarding their health without having to get agreement of a professional person beforehand.

The BBC article can be read in full here.

